Giving spiritual credit where it’s due

It’s a couple of months now since Jeeves stalked our pulpits with his ten unanswerable questions. Since then thousands have been sending in their answers to the questions, and Jeeves has now chosen the winners.  There is a great deal of charm, wit and, dare I say it, spirituality, in the answers. Consider, for example, the top answer to the question “is there a God?” :

As beauty is in the eye of the beholder….
So GOD is in the heart of the believer.

The answer to the question about how long I will live is equally provocative:

For as Long as you Feel Alive

Answers to the remaining eight questions can be found here.

Sometimes as preachers it suits us to paint the landscape beyond the church as a desolate and Godless place. One of the things these answers suggest is that nothing could be further from the truth.  Where Paul could say to the Athenians “I see that in every way you are very religious” (Acts 17 v.22), we might be more inclined to say ‘ where is God amongst all your idols’?  Where Jesus said “you study the scriptures diligently…yet you refuse to come to me to have life” (John 5 v.39-40) we might well say ‘you don’t read the Bible properly’.

I am indebted to Jeeves for opening my eyes to the spirituality beyond the church’s walls, and he is welcome in my church any time.

Jeeves

