The advent crown

First Sunday of Advent today, and always a special moment when the first candle is lit on the advent crown. With it, adults and children alike begin the journey of anticipation and joy which counts down to Christmas. The trouble is, try as I might I can’t avoid referring to the ‘four candles’, and every time I do I am inadvertently reminded of the classic British comedy moment depicted below.

There’s nothing wrong with humour in church and in preaching. In fact, carefully used it can aid both attention and absorption. However, there are some points where it is less appropriate than others – and the solemn moment of heralding Advent’s beginning (with its welter of emotions) is probably one of them!  Does anybody else have the same problem with the four candles of Advent…or have I just created it for you?

