Listen before speaking

I have spent this morning closeted away in a country house now gloriously restored as a Christian training and retreat venue. My aim was to spend a few hours listening and praying as I devised the church’s preaching programme for the next quarter. I was all alone in the beautiful panelled library with my Bible and my note book, but loved the notice on the door:

After all, that was the point, wasn’t it?

Following on yesterday’s frenetic (and fascinating) discussion on tweeting in the pew, it is important to remember that our most basic instinct as human beings is to meet with God. One of the journals I read this morning talked about ‘cultural attention deficit disorder’ – with too many things clamouring for our attention.

Once in a while, we just have  to shut them out…

