Looking for Isacchar

As some of you will know, I have just been out of the country for a week. One of the great advantages of such distance is that you gain a different view of things. Over the past few days, for instance, I have seen the Royal Wedding from every perspective, from American, to Portugese.

Yesterday morning, I also saw the death of Osama Bin Laden from numerous perspectives.  The thing which struck me, though, was the similarity between images of crowds rejoicing in Palestine on the day of the original 9/11 attack and images of crowds rejoicing over Bin Laden’s death in Washington DC. The flags are a different colour, but both are ugly in their own way, and both fuelled by a kind of bloodlust.

When I am training preachers, especially in the art of news-based preaching, I ask them to cry out to God for the gift with which the Men Of Issachar were endowed.  1 Chronicles 12 v.32 tells us that they ‘understood the times, and knew what Israel should do’. I wonder what they would make of these pictures and their interpretation?

Image: washingtonexaminer

Image: likud,nl

