The joys of digital serendipity

A few moments ago a tweet alerted me to a talk given at a conference on the other side of the world. I didn’t have to go looking for it – it just found me through my Twitter feed.

The vast majority of organizations today are less than the sum of their parts. There are so many capabilities, so many resources, that are not accessed. Companies need to tap the networks, to access expertise, to bring together people who can learn from each other.

What a fabulous analysis of 1 Corinthians 12, don’t you think?  What a great way to sum up the situation in many churches.  Except that it wasn’t a sermon and he wasn’t talking about churches. This came from a talk given by futurist and entrepreneur Ross Dawson at a conference for internet broadcaster Viocorp. I cannot imagine any circumstance in which I would have sought out a record of  the proceedings at such a gathering. What I do with it now, and how I connect it with my world and my expertise is up to me. The joy of digital serendipity is that it takes me outside my professional orbit into a place where I collide with the professional expertise of others and the creative sparks fly.

Just recently I met someone on Twitter who often asks her followers “what is inspiring you today”? Today, my answer would be Ross Dawson.

What about you?

