Growing in time

Thirty-five years ago, the Gideons came to visit my school, and presented each student in my year with a New Testament. I still have it now – dog-eared, bashed, and bearing a large green ink stain where a felt tip in the bottom of my school bag collided with a leaky drinks bottle  and a precious book.  That little book set me on a journey of discovery, on which I am still travelling.  The curiosity about the book led me to the school’s Christian Union. My thirst for Biblical understanding was still not slaked and I started to attend a local Crusader (now Urban Saints) group at the local Baptist Church. In 1980 I became so overwhelmingly convinced the this was indeed God’s good news, that I became a Christian and was baptised as a believer.

During the early stages of that journey there was one little verse in this new and unfamiliar book which I loved so much I decided to learn it by heart:

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11 v.28)

Today I get to preach on that verse, and I am oh so grateful, for so many reasons.

