On watching The Nativity

I have just been watching Tony Jordan’s utterly brilliant ‘Nativity‘ all over again, having received it on DVD for Christmas. As I have commented before, it is gritty, beautifully scripted and tenderly acted. Tears pricked at my eyes once again as the moments of sheer wonder and humble worship unfolded in the stable. This will be watched many more times, I am sure.

However, as I unwrapped the DVD from its cellophane package, I noticed the warning on the cover:

Contains infrequent moderate violence and moderate sex references

Both are true, of course, and the film censors are doing their job by stating them. How appropriate, though, that the story of the Messiah’s birth cannot be told without these things. Into such a world as this, Jesus was born, thank God.

Image: BBC.co.uk

