A call for existentialism

When I was a little boy, I used to get a diary in my Christmas stocking every year. I suppose it was a useful ‘filler’, but filling it usually proved beyond me. After the first three or four days I ran out of things to say, and the diary disappeared. Its rather the same with New Year Resolutions. So often we seem to make them in such a flush of enthusiasm, and then the reality of January kicks in.

This year I decided to try something different. From my kitchen table at home in 2011, I sent an email to my work address to be opened in 2012.  It has the words “do not delete” in the subject line, and has three or four bullet points of things I want to remember. This is no guarantee that I shall do them, of course – but at least it serves as a reminder to me.

So often we waste time rather than investing it – which is why we all feel the need to make fresh plans at the start of a fresh year. The little film below is a reminder of this. At nearly five minutes its a little long for a blog post, but its worth it.

When I was studying theology it seemed that “existentialism” was pretty much a dirty word amongst Christians. It needn’t be, though – Christians can still keep a long term perspective whilst seizing the moment for all its worth.  Considerer this little gem from Ephesians 5 v. 16 ”making the most of every opportunity’ . The words in red are one word in the Greek “exAGORAzo” – where the word “agora” means market place. To capture the sense of it you need to think of s market trader calling out to “hurry, hurry, hurry” whilst stocks last.

Will we make the most of 2012, I wonder?

